Thursday, February 12, 2009

Stax ISAAC HAYES reissues for 'Black Moses' and 'Juicy Fruit' on 2/24!

You already know Isaac Hayes was the voice of "Chef" on South Park. We hope you also know the rest...

Isaac Hayes’ epic 1971 album Black Moses, which captured the artist at the peak of his popularity, will be reissued on Stax Records on February 24, 2009. The release is a complete replication of the original Black Moses package, folding out into a cross-shaped image of the artist. The album was re-mastered from the original tapes. New liner notes are by Rob Bowman, the Grammy Award-winning Stax scholar and author of Soulsville U.S.A: The Story of Stax Records.

Also on February 24, Stax will reissue Hayes’ 1976 disco album, Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak), originally released on Hayes’ ABC Records-distributed Hot Buttered Soul label and recorded at his own Memphis studio with many of his long-time band members. This will be its first time on CD. Music historian Bill Dahl contributed liner notes to the reissue.

Hayes’ unexpected death on August 10, 2008 at the age of 65 robbed us of future soulful treasures, but we can rediscover R&B classics like Black Moses and overlooked gems like Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak) and groove anew on his extraordinary musical vision.


"Now write this number down now mama..."

Windows Media:

Black Moses and Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak) in stores February 24

Buy Black Moses on

Buy Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak) on


Disc One
1. Never Can Say Goodbye 5:10
2. (They Long To Be) Close To You 9:06
3. Nothing Takes The Place Of You 5:32
4. Man's Temptation 5:02
5. Part Time Love 8:35
6. Medley: Ike's Rap IV/A Brand New Me 9:44
7. Going In Circles 7:02
Disc Two
1. Never Gonna Give You Up 5:51
2. Medley: Ike's Rap II/Help Me Love 7:34
3. Need To Belong To Someone 5:17
4. Good Love 5:16
5. Medley: Ike's Rap III/Your Love Is So Doggone Good 9:18
6. For The Good Times 5:21
7. I'll Never Fall In Love Again 4:56

1. Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak) 9:34
2. Let's Don’t Ever Blow Our Thing 6:01
3. The Storm Is Over 4:42
4. Music To Make Love By 6:23
5. Thank You Love 4:47
6. Lady Of The Night 4:06
7. Love Me Or Lose Me 5:33

No comments: