Wednesday, March 25, 2009


In 1947 Jackie Robinson broke the “color line” in professional baseball, becoming the first African-American since the end of the 19th century to play alongside white players in an official game. For many, Jackie Robinson’s entry into Major League Baseball presented a view into a future where much of American society would be fully integrated. As important as Robinson’s achievement was, it would overshadow perhaps an even greater example of the legacy of African-American success. Before they could suit up alongside their white peers, black baseball players were relegated to the Negro Leagues. But rather than see the Negro Leagues as an inferior version of white baseball, visionaries like Andrew “Rube” Foster and players like Josh Gibson, James “Cool Papa” Bell, Leroy “Satchel” Paige and Buck O’Neil helped create a vibrant testament to African-American ingenuity and survival. Though the Negro Leagues are too often forgotten in an era when African-American athletes compete at the highest levels of virtually every professional sport, Stadium Entertainment aims to celebrate the Negro Leagues with the compilation CD True to the Game, Volume 1. A portion of the gross proceeds from the sale of True to the Game, Volume 1 will be used to support fund-raising efforts for the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City, MO. True to the Game, Volume 1 launched its release on March 24, 2009 on Stadium Entertainment.

The current single and video, The Big Screen, features protégé GLC and hip-hop icon Kanye West. GLC is clearly an emerging voice in urban music. His success started when childhood friend, Kanye, offered GLC a guest appearance on his debut album, The College Dropout. GLC delivered a verse which engendered critical acclaim from music critics and fans alike, followed by another stellar performance on “Drive Slow,” from Kanye’s sophomore LP, Late Registration. GLC and Kanye West were the first artists who agreed to lend their talents on the True To The Game project.

The CD is comprised of 14 tracks featuring platinum and multi-platinum selling artists paired with emerging new artists. The line-up includes: Yung Joc, Raiyn and Talib Kweli, Tay Dizm, T-Pain and Rick Ross, Macy Gray and Marsha Ambrosius, GLC and Kanye West, Sam Chris and Big Boi, Mikkey Halsted and Klass, Ziggy Nina and Chingy, Porta Prince and Ray J, Jarvis and Ludacris, Mario, DJ Pharris with Shawna, Paul Wall and Lil Scrappy, Brandon Hines, and Hustle Boyz and Snoop Dogg.

No comments: